Comprehensive Consulting for Mental Health and Wellness Professionals in Private Practice

 

Hello | My Account | Login
Our blog

The Blog

Occasional insights, inspirations, and recommendations for practice taming.

 

Carepaths / eRecord - Review

Carepaths / eRecord - Review

Carepaths / eRecord
www.carepaths.com

Ratings:   Features - 4   GUI/UX – 2   Work Flow – 3    Learning Curve - 3   Support – U
Features:   Groups - Y   Scheduling - Y   Notes - Y   E-Filing - Y   Billing - Y   Client Portal - Y
Price:   $30/mo and up (Discounts for Groups or part-time clinicians)

Pros:   Full Featured, Electronic Intake Forms & Assessments, Price
Cons:   Limited User Interface, Interface not tablet friendly, Lacking Polish On Some Features and Work Flow

It's a Good Choice For Practices That: Are budget conscious and willing to wait on a polished/refined GUI/UX.

Standout Features: Electronic Intakes, Comprehensive Data Collection, Array of Assessments

I recently revisited Carepath's eRecord hoping I would have an opportunity to a complete re-write of my review.  It's been over a year since the original (Sept 2012) and, having heard of some new features and interface updates I was looking forward to seeing the improvements.  While the improvements are well-done, they aren't comprehensive enough for me to drastically change my review.  I've made some minor updates to the review below and added some notes about the changes at the end.

Carepath's eRecord application packs an impressive array of features. They have all the major feature categories covered and have some unique offerings like a complete suite of note and assessment templates. 

Similar to Therapy Appointment, eRecord is a full-featured application that lacks a refined GUI/UX. More so than therapyappointment, however, eRecord lacks polish and can actually be tedious to use. One of the significant improvements Carepaths has made since my original review has been in this area.  They've added a much more friendly interface for some of their client data screens and others. Unfortunately, these improvements have not been made universally. Many screens are still simplistic black and white with smallish fonts. This can make it very challenging to pick out specific pieces of information quickly. Further, the menu continues to be one of the least friendly I've seen.  They appear to be in the process of improving this but, again, it's not fully implemented and continues to lead to stilted feeling navigation. Obviously these challenges would be mitigated some by repeated use, however, the application continues to be a chore to use on a tablet computer.

In addition, many of eRecord's features lack refinement. For example, there is no indicator within the application or notification to the clinician via email, that they have received a secure message from a client. This requires that the clinician check the messages tab on a regular basis, an unnecessary task in most applications. Further, when a client sends a message to a clinician, the system doesn't automatically know who their assigned clinician is. These are just two examples in a list of things where the lack of polish will actually cost clinicians and their patients as much time as the system might save with other features.  I was actually remarkably suprised to find few improvements to some of these minor details.

Still, those more focused on features and price may find eRecord worth a look.  Some important features they've added include integrated credit card payment, email appointment reminders (though only with the 24 hour prior option), and batch delivery of statements to those with a non-zero balance.

Full List of Reviews

 

 

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive quarterly newsletters full of timely information!

Rob Reinhardt, LPCS

Rob is a Licensed Professional Counselor in private practice and
owner of Tame Your Practice, which provides comprehensive
consulting to mental health and wellness professionals.

©2013 Rob Reinhardt, LPC, PA   www.tameyourpractice.com

 

 

Share This: 

Comments

Stacey Horn's picture
Submitted by Stacey Horn on Mon, 03/18/2013 - 12:02

Hi Rob, I just wanted to share with you that I spoke with one of the developers- Geoff Gray, PhD this morning, sounds like there have been some changes since this was written. It's a tough call to weigh it out- it is a month to month, and you can download your data if you choose to end. I like that it's got all the assessments- which are included in the price, new billing service codes are in, has the option for multiple sites and tax id's; Patient portal, Rate is adjustable from $30- based upon the amount of time a clinican uses. Unsure if it can process credit cards.
I've made the leap to PsychAdminPartners to do my billing, and they can download reports from the system, so I'm not duplicating my own processes with Quickbooks.
I also sent him the link for your review, I hope they look at the issues around the client info sheets you've mentioned.

Rob Reinhardt's picture
Submitted by Rob Reinhardt on Mon, 03/18/2013 - 12:21

Hi Stacey,

Thank you for the feedback. I do re-visit past reviews on a regular basis, especially when there is some indication that significant improvements have been made. It's very important to note that speaking with a representative of a product is usually a vastly different experience than actually using it.

They haven't changed their demo video in over two years, so that makes me skeptical that significant changes have happened with their interface. I'd love to hear from some actual users who can report what, if any changes have occurred over the last few months. I was impressed with Carepath's feature set and would love to hear that they've made great strides in improving the interface and polishing the details.

Paris's picture
Submitted by Paris on Mon, 05/20/2013 - 20:39

I chose CarePaths based on price and that was a mistake. As of May 2013 there are a lot of bugs in the system, the user interface is poorly designed and hard to use, and they offer minimal tech support. In only a few weeks of use the system crashed on me and I had claims rejected as a result of CarePaths mistakes. I'd rather spend a bit more to get a higher level of service so I'm looking at other companies.

Rob Reinhardt's picture
Submitted by Rob Reinhardt on Mon, 05/20/2013 - 21:01

Hi Paris,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that it was a poor one. Here's hoping you have an improved experience with your next choice!

Jo's picture
Submitted by Jo on Thu, 05/29/2014 - 14:58

I am a user of carepaths. For the money it does pretty well. My biggest frustration is that to get any reports you have to submit them and then wait to be able to view/print them the next business day. This isn't helpful when you sit down to work and can only do half the job if you need the report. I wish they would fix this so the reports were immediate.

Rob Reinhardt's picture
Submitted by Rob Reinhardt on Thu, 05/29/2014 - 15:07

Hi Jo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Carepaths. While I'm able to give a general overview of the applications, readers gain a lot of value from the details like this that users share. Certainly having reports available at your fingertips is an important feature for most businesses.

Pages

Add new comment


Note: Anonymous comments are moderated. To better make and track comments, you may create an account.
Read our policies: Comment Policy Terms of Service Privacy Policy